Rabbit goes back down his hole,
He’ll be down there for awhile,
Long, long, long dark winter
swallows up his soul.
“Too damn cold to leave here,”
“If I leave I’ll get sick,”
“I know I should eat carrots,”
“but I don’t want to move.”
Easter won’t come this year,
Rabbit’s stuck in his hole,
He lost his cotton tail,
all his eggs disappeared.
“Bit off a whole lot more,”
“than I could ever chew,”
“I can beat this hole still,”
“and beat that tortoise too.”
He sits in that hole all day,
and just nods his head,
No one can block his hole off,
he always finds his way.
Finally comes out and up,
Gets a glimpse of the sun,
He was cold and shaking,
and he had grown real thin,
No one could keep him warm,
One day outside of his hole,
that was enough for him.
So Rabbit climbed back in his hole,
all the way down,
It was black as a coal,
no one saw him again.
Leave a Reply

